Dr. Jim Souza, 2022 ACMS Physician of the Year

Each year, the ACMS board of directors selects one of its members as its Physician of the Year from nominations by the membership. Honorees exemplify the best ideals and aspirations of our profession by:

  • Being active in the Ada County Medical Society and the broader community.
  • Displaying outstanding professionalism and behavior
  • Standing out among physicians in the community
  • Acting as a mentor to other physicians.
  • Promoting the advancement of new technology and patient care
  • Actively supporting physician issues at the local, state, and national level

2022 Physician of the Year, Jim Souza, MD

Dr. James SouzaDr. Souza has played a very strong and visible role as Chief Medical Officer of St. Luke’s Health System over the past 5 years. During the COVID crisis, he provided a reasoned and empathetic voice about public health matters in news interviews, testimony to public health boards, and with the medical staff of the System. He also stood fast against the politically motivated intimidation of St. Luke’s employees during an imminent danger child welfare case earlier this year. Under his leadership, SLHS has remained in IBM Watson Health’s Top 15 Health Systems for nine years running.

Since becoming the CMO, Dr. Souza has helped oversee the development of SLHS’ Provider Well-being Center of Excellence. He championed its creation, staffed by a part-time physician leader (a former ACMS board member) and a full-time administrative dyad to support the effort. He remains an active clinician practice pulmonary and critical care medicine with St. Luke’s – Idaho Pulmonary Associates on a limited basis, keeping him very much in touch with the challenges which physicians face daily.

He earned his undergraduate degree in cell biology from the University of Montana and a medical degree from the University of Washington School of Medicine. He served his residency in internal medicine at the University of Washington and the Boise VA Medical Center and did a pulmonary and critical care fellowship through the University of Washington and the Boise VA Medical Center. He is board-certified in pulmonary disease and critical care medicine.